on my way to twenty three (8)

I am eight days away from being a full 23, fearfully and wonderfully made. Knitted together in my mother’s womb, in the secret place, by the hands of The Greatest with a promise that is still in the making. I love to meditate on this every day, every part of me was carefully knitted together in my beautiful mother’s womb. Who am I to criticize God’s work, He made me in His image, to Him I am beautiful, chosen, His most treasured possession.

image

For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. (ESV) Psalm 139

Here are today’s three life lessons! (squeelsss.., eeeeek)

1.) People pleasing is not my thing. I am not everyone’s cup of tea and that’s okay. People pleasing is really not my thing, it was (so I thought) for a very long time, but not anymore. #Grace I have learned that people are so hard to please, you really cannot make everyone like you. When you try to make people like you and they do, you end up not liking yourself. Booo, that’s not so fun because guess who you live with? haaaa yeah! yourself! So, if you don’t like your own self, we are in big trouble. This is how I ended up feeling so sick and tired during past seasons in my life because I was so focused on what people would think about me and I barely ever really asked what God thought of me! When i took my eyes off the people and focused my eyes on Jesus, boy did my life change. This did not mean I now don’t care what people think and I live recklessly without taking into account other people’s feelings, not at all. If anything it taught me that by aiming to be like Jesus people will respect me for not trying to make them like me but for staying true to myself. I am not trying to imitate others so they can like me, I am not in the business of people pleasing… my goal is for Jesus to look to me and say “That’s my girl!” and that is enough.

IMG_1798.JPG

Bondservants, obey in everything those who are your earthly masters, not by way of eye-service, as people-pleasers, but with sincerity of heart, fearing the Lord.
Colossians 3:22 ESV

2.) I am not perfect, I am flawed and that’s beautiful. I learned to point my eyes to Jesus. As I seek more and more of Him, my cry for him to increase and my ol’ self to decrease. Why? Here, I’ll be happy to tell you why : ) see, when I go against what God says I tend to, be selfish, I am angry, I am sad, I am anxious, I am rebellious, I hurt people, I lie, I make fun of people in a cruel way, I hurt myself, I am quick to speak and slow to hear, I judge, I manipulate. And you could say well shouldn’t you want to be a good person naturally without having to read God’s word? Well yeah, we all want to be kind and all that good stuff but we are human! We make mistakes, we get tired, when we live by the flesh and not by the spirit we tend to do things that go against what God intended for us.

When I am in God’s word I am learning (and probably not perfected it but it’s a process) to be selfless, to think of others before I think of myself, to speak truth, to guard my heart, to be slow to speak and fast to hear, to be slow to anger, to not sin when I get angry, to think of others higher than myself, to love, to accept, to obey my parents, to respect my elders, to respect authority, to be content in every situation etc. I am learning all these things not by my self but God is teaching me and when I tire, I can come to Him, He listens to me, He fills my cup, and He renews my strength. It’s beautiful to be flawed because I can sit at the feet of Jesus and learn all about Him, to be more like Him, to walk like Him, to treat others as He treated them not as church goers do but as Jesus did. So, I stopped looking at the church, I stopped looking at the world, I started looking at Him.

Set your mind on things that are above, not on things that are on earth. Colossians 3:2

3.) I learned to take a day off. Umm yeah, you read that right. I grew up to believe that my worth and identity was solely based on my grades, my professional career, extracurricular activities, talents, etc. you get the picture. So if this was the case, you best believe I was always working. I did not want to fail ever, so I worked hard but maybe too hard and I barely got any time to take care of myself. I was too tired to use face toner, too tired to brush my hair, too tired to come up with an outfit, etc. I’m so glad I learned that rest is so important and that there is nothing wrong with taking a day off. Take time for yourself! Choose sleep, choose joy, choose food. Use your time wisely, feed your body good foods, feed your soul with good soul food. Love yourself and stop waiting for someone to come sweep you off your feet and love you because you will never know what love is if you do not start by loving yourself first. We only give from what we have, if we have abundant love, we will give plenty of love.If we are starved of love, we cannot give what we don’t have.

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. (NIV) Mathew 11:28

(I didn’t take a day off today but I did make some time to get my birthday nails done! I picked three different colors because once you get to a certain age you are no longer scared of the manicurist at the salon and you tell her exactly how you like your nails. Haa jk I was so scared and she was kind of mad but we both got over it and I got three different colors on meu unhas! yay!)

FullSizeRender-4.jpg

Song I overplayed this year, Give In | Lecrae

Song just for funsies: I actually love this song so much, it makes my heart sing 🙂 God Girl

Book that taught me a lot: God Girl By Hayley DiMarco

Blogger Spotlight #2

This is kind of a blog, it’s a magazine and they do have blog posts by various authors and it feeds my soul with so much Bible truth. It has helped me so much and I hope that you are blessed by it also! Here is the link: Whole Magazine They post daily devotionals as well and if you are looking for creative ways to get into scripture, again we have a winner!

Today on my way to twenty three, I went to take my mom to the airport, once again I admire her strong character, how brave she is, and how diligent she is. Also, check out her fashion sense!!! My role model!!

IMG_1761.PNG

I got to work and to my surprise a sweet coworker brought a delicious oreo cheesecake! Yep, you best believe I enjoyed it so much and of course took a picture to share with you all! I showed her the picture and she approved and asked me to send it to her so she could share it also! #Love Here it is, again #SorryNotSorryIMG_1771.JPG

And here’s a picture of me living the cube life! 1.5 years in the field!

IMG_1773.JPG

 

 

 

One thought on “on my way to twenty three (8)

Leave a Reply

