On my way to twenty three (7)

 

Well the seventh day before my birthday is about to come to an end but, His mercies are new every day! I’ve got a fried plantain in front of me right now with sour cream. I keep burning my tongue because it is so hot but I want to eat it right now. #patience Anyway, if you’ve been reading these silly posts: I LOVE YOU! Thanks for reading, really,  I would love to learn more about you and get some feedback so feel free to reach out to me either through this website or on Facebook or Instagram and share what stood out to you the most! Shout out to SG, I know you’re reading this, iloveyou! *pats on back*


Here’s a quick recap of the lessons I’ve shared with you so far:

*you can read more on previous posts by clicking here or scrolling down*

1. I have yet sooooooo much to learn.

2. I can’t change anyone, only God can.

3. My mom was right about E VE RY thing.

4. People pleasing is not my thing. I am not everyone’s cup of tea and that’s okay.

5. I am not perfect, I am flawed and that’s beautiful.

6. I learned to take a day off.

7. Forgive everyone even when they are not sorry.

& today’s three lessons are:

1.) Be patient. Trust the process. Seek God.

Whatever is for you will come. You do not need to rush into anything, especially relationships! I learned to be still in the midst of the waiting period… It’s so much easier to take things into our own hands or so we often think. But it’s not, when we don’t wait and we make things happen, we end up in messy situations. Just like the fried plantains burned my tongue… when something looks good but it is not ready for you, don’t make it happen. Just be patient and whatever needs to happen will eventually happen. Meanwhile, grab a copy of your favorite book, have a coffee and enjoy a sunrise or you know, the little things. At 23, I can honestly say, I have learned to be patient in the midst of waiting and I can write a whole lot on this topic so I’ll just keep it short here, be patient. Trust the process and Seek God!

390537_2788996531321_43415850_n

Seek first the Kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. Therefore, do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious about itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble. (ESV) Mathew 6:33-34

2.) Be an active listener and make eye contact with EVERY single one.

Being an active listener is so much more than just being quiet when someone is talking. It is actually paying attention to what they are saying, making eye contact, connecting with them in a personal level, and offering feedback upon request. I’ve learned to be slow to speak and quick to listen. It’s definitely a work in progress but I learn so much from others just by listening to what they have to say. Active listening means I care about you, you matter, and you are important. It’s putting others before yourself.

I read God Girl by HaiLey Dimarco and I could read it every day probably. It taught me so much about how to become a God Girl, not a good girl but a God girl. And one of the biggest lines that stuck out to me is on page 85 and it says “Looking at people in the eyes is kindness. It says to them, ‘You count.’ And it reminds them that we are all part of the same human race. When you avoid looking people in the eyes, you seem cold and unattached, and that doesn’t help to spread the love of Christ but hides it.” I learned that my life is not a movie where I am the star and everyone who is not my family member or close friend is an extra. I learned that my life is a movie where God is the star and we all play equal parts who are just as important as every single person on this earth.

3.) Happiness is not a destination, it’s a journey.

Happiness cannot be achieved by reaching a destination (a dream house, car, job, degree, pair of shoes for example.) Seriously, anything you can think of, if you want it really bad and you think that once you get that job or that house or that husband, <that only then> you will be completely happy, let me tell you this: I don’t know much in life but I have learned that this is completely false. You will not be happy once you reach that milestone because you weren’t happy in the midst of waiting and working for it. Happiness is a journey, a state of mind. Whenever you feel tired and sick of waiting… choose joy.

I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through him who strengthens me. Philippians 11-13 (ESV)

10012549_10206960914848599_6123783052833750402_n

Today, I spent the evening with some of my favorite people at Radical Culture Boston learning about Old Testament Law. We learned about two types of laws: Apodictic Law and Casuistic Law.

Apodictic Law: Direct commands that were generally applicable and taught the Israelites how to fulfill their part of the covenant with God. Leviticus 19:9-14.

Casuistic Law: Instructions for case by case scenarios. They describe certain conditions that may happen in certain types of situations of people. Deuteronomy 15:12-17

By what Pastor Sarah taught, I learned that when God is using the word shall He is using it as a direct command. When there is an “If” followed by a “Then” then those ‘shalls’ in between are only applicable to that certain law and scenario. Only the commandments that He renews in the New Testament are applicable to us today. Even though Old testament law is not applicable today it can certainly teach us a lot about how to love each other and how to treat others with kindness and justice.

IMG_1847.JPG

Leave a Reply

