Eben Ezer at twenty three

Today is the day! I’m here! I feel twenty three. It’s so real, it’s so tangible, it’s the end of a journey and the start of a brand new one! Today was amazing, this entire month has been amazing. I have seen God inspire so many people to speak His love to me, and not only speak it but show it in a tangible way. I woke up today, alive, blessed, healthy, loved. I started reading the book of Deutoronomy with a reading plan organized by http://www.womenlivingwell.org and it ended today on my 23rd birthday!  My mom played a love letter video on youtube as I was getting ready for work this morning. You don’t have to keep reading this if you would like just go and watch this, that would make me smile, to know that you too are watching this and to have hope that you take this love letter for yourself. This is really something that keeps me going every day to know that there is hope, to know that all the promises found in the Scriptures will be fulfilled in God’s perfect timing. I made it to twenty three! Here I am, Eben Ezer, this is true. Watch Here:  God’s Love Letter to YOU

Here are the last three lessons that conclude this blog series!

21. Let your inner child grow!

They say we get wiser as we get older, more serious, more professional, and more charming. While this may be true in a way, i learned that as the years pass I grow younger! There is just this amazing feeling that you get as you let your inner child burst! Children are amazing! I love kids because they will always tell you the honest truth, they alway want to make you feel better when you’re sad, they laugh about the little things and the big things, they fight but five minutes later they forget why they were upset, a lollipop can fix a scraped knee, a walk in the park can make their imagination go wild! You see where I’m going with this right? Kids are just amazing and I always want the inner girl inside me to burst out, to make others smile, to have the best day ever (every day) and to live as if there were no tomorrow! Because really, tomorrow is not promised.

Mathew 18:3 Jesus said, “Truly, I say to you, unless you turn and become like children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.

22. Your inner appearance is so much more important than your outer appearance.

What is inside of you, radiates from the inside out. No expensive clothes, no super elegant hair dos, no high heels are going to change who you are. You don’t become who you are by what you own, or by what you achieve in life. Your character gets molded by what’s in the inside, by how you react when things get tough, by your reaching out to the poor, by putting others before yourself, and so on.

Do not let your adorning be external—the braiding of hair and the putting on of gold jewelry, or the clothing you wear—1 Peter 3:3 ESV

23. I learned to let go of faux anchors, and I dropped my anchor in Jesus.

This year has been a year I’ll never forget. I started this year with a broken heart. A broken heart, like in a million little pieces. As the strong woman I was supposed to be I ignored many things that were eating the insides of me. I thought I was strong enough, that I had it all figured out. Little by little and in a very painful process; I was healed. The point of this long series of blog posts really gets summarized in this: I want to tell everyone that God is a real living God, that there is NOONE on this earth that understands, protects, and heals like God does. I looked for answers everywhere and I didn’t find any. I only sunk deeper into pain, struggle, and affliction. My days seemed longer, grayer, lonelier as the twenty two clock turned. I believed Jesus loved me, I’ve been a church girl my entire life. But maybe that’s all I was, a church girl and not a God girl. I had to let go of many faux anchors that I was holding on to. They were taking up my time and distracting me from the One who could put me back together. And I was able to see that I can’t sustain myself, that I don’t have it all figured out, that I know no better than anyone else, that I mess up A LOT, that I got a loooooong way to go. But everything is fine because I’ve got God and He is the one who sustains me, He transforms me every day and I am who I am because I am His, it’s all Him, His relentless love pursued me and he did everything He could to have me back. I’m 23 now, and I am super excited of what God has in store for me, of all that I have yet to learn. I am at peace because I know who holds my future and I know I am loved, chosen, pursued, and redeemed!

Hebrews 6:19 says: we have this as a sure and steadfast anchor of the soul, a hope that enters unto the inner place behind the curtain. (ESV)

Thank you so much for reading, for encouraging me with your comments, likes, texts, actual spoken words, and just for being here with me also on this journey! I had so much fun writing this and reminiscing on this past year along with all of you! I pray that this series bless you and if what you got out of my journey is a two percent piece of advice then I’ll take it!

Leave a Reply

